Current News

  • Tweet

ARCS MWC 2016 Scholar Awards Reception

Posted on Thursday, September 29, 2016

The Metropolitan Washington Chapter of ARCS Foundation, Inc., will be hosting its 47th annual Scholar Awards Reception on the evening of Thursday, October 20, 2016.  We are honored to welcome Diane E. Griffin MD, PhD as the 2016 Keynote Speaker. The proceedings will be held in The National Academy of Sciences Great Hall and Auditorium, Washington, D.C. The reception honors 15 graduate and 2 undergraduate ARCS/MWC Scholars, who are pursuing significant research in science, technology, engineering and medicine (STEM) from Georgetown University, The George Washington University, The Johns Hopkins University, The University of Maryland and The University of Virginia.

Diane E. Griffin MD, PhD is the Vice President of the US National Academy of Sciences, and University Distinguished Service Professor and former Chair of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology (MMI) at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. MMI has the responsibility for fundamental research and training in the molecular aspects of the pathogenesis, epidemiology, and prevention of infectious diseases, addressing the pressing need for a better understanding of the biology of infectious diseases in order to inform and support novel and innovative public health measures with a global impact.  Dr. Griffin earned her BA in Biology at Augustana College in Rock Island, IL, and her MD and PhD at Stanford University School of Medicine. She is one of the leading researchers in infectious virology focusing in the pathogenesis of measles and alphavirus encephalitis. Her research, supported by grants from the NIH, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Dana Foundation, and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, addresses issues related to virulence and the role of immune responses in infection protection and clearance. She is an AAAS Fellow, Member of the National Academy of Sciences, Member of the National Academy of Medicine, and Past President of the American Society for Virology and the American Society for Microbiology. Among other honors, she has received the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame (2009), the Rudolf Virchow Medal (2010), Wallace Sterling Lifetime Alumni Achievement Award from Stanford University (2011), the FASEB Excellence in Science Award (2015) and Maxwell Finland Award (2016). Dr. Griffin is the author or co-author of more than 300 scholarly articles, she has edited 7 books, taught microbiology and immunology courses, mentored countless trainees, served as guest lecturer, promoted science, informed the general public through volunteer work, and with her husband Jack raised two children. Her professional and personal accomplishments are an inspirational example to us all.

ARCS is a nationwide, all volunteer not-for-profit organization committed to advancing American leadership in science and technology at leading research universities by providing scholar awards to students pursuing degrees in higher education.  The Scholar Awards Reception at the National Academy of Sciences provides a valued venue to meet the leadership teams from ARCS, industry and academic partners, affording the chance to hear about their clear commitments to STEM education. For additional information, please email Carolyn Racich at